My GSoC project

I am very happy for being accepted to GSoC at phpmyadmin. My task is an error reporting system for the javascript code in phpmyadmin. I will be using this blog to comment on my progress on my phpmyadmin project.

I am actually in the architecture design stage now with the server component. I will most likely use Cakephp as my MVC framework of choice, unless the phpmyadmin developers agree on me using Ruby on Rails as my framework. While I believe that it is much easier to develop using Rails due to the gems available that do almost anything you may imagine, however not using php as a language would be problem for maintainability down the line.

I will probably publish an updated schedule soon since the current one doesn’t distribute the efforts across the entire period.

One thought on “My GSoC project

  1. Pingback: Mohamed Ashraf: My GSoC project | PHP World

Leave a Reply

